Whereoscope 2.1 for iPhone – Control your location algorithm!

Hi all,

We’re very pleased to announce that Whereoscope version 2.1 has been approved by Apple.

Download Whereoscope

There are lots of small changes in this version as well as one big one: you can now control the background location algorithm.

In previous versions we used our own hybrid algorithm to determine exactly when your iPhone will update its location. This would take into account the battery level, your current location, and several other factors.

But due to user demand, we’ve now exposed this as 2 simpler versions:

  • Update when I change cell towers:
    Whenever you change cell towers (which are normally around 1 mile apart), Whereoscope will turn on the GPS and get a highly accurate sample. This is very conservative on battery consumption as it will only draw power when you move around. However, if you stay in the same place it will not update your location.

    This setting will prevent your family members from force-Refreshing your phone unless it is moving. Once you stop moving, Whereoscope will go to sleep.

  • Update every 1 to 60 minutes
    This lets you specify exactly how frequently you want Whereoscope to update. The default is set to 10 minutes, but you can change it to whatever you want to manage battery consumption and timeliness.

    This setting will allow members of your family to always force-Refresh your device’s location.

You can change algorithms whenever you like.

Version 2.1 also contains an embedded tour to guide users through setting up different elements of Whereoscope such as inviting family members, or adding their Home and Work locations.

I’ve also updated our translations page to reflect the new translations that have come in – thanks Rios & Burak!

Stay tuned for more exciting things coming soon!

Advertisements

3 Responses to Whereoscope 2.1 for iPhone – Control your location algorithm!

  1. Doug says:

    Hi Mick,
    I like the new location update options, and the intro tutorial but I’m not a big fan of some of the new mandatory configuration settings before the app can be used. I have 2 work locations already setup in my places, one for me and one for my wife, but neither are named just “Work” which seems to be all the app will accept. I’ve tried to both rename and delete the unneeded “Work” place after the setup is done, but this just puts me back into the setup screen the next time I use the app. The only solution I have found is to create the place, but turn notification off, which seem like a waste of time. This is a bit of an annoyance to force me to set a place that I can’t rename or delete in order to use the app. It also appears that the “Home” place is the same as “Work”. I have always used the name “Home” as the description and didn’t have any issues with that one, but someone trying to identify multiple homes may have a similar issue.

    • Mick says:

      Hi Doug,

      Thanks for writing in. We pushed through an update a few hours ago which means that if you have at least 2 places set up it won’t require you to add the mandatory “Home” and “Work” venues, to solve precisely the issue you’re seeing.

      Can you confirm it’s still there? I can look into your account directly and make sure as well.

      Cheers,
      Mick

      • Doug says:

        Hi Mick,
        I was able to delete the extra “Work” place and restart the app without seeing the setup screen this time. thanks for the quick update!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: